Monday, November 9, 2009

The Angel Maker by: Stefan Brijs


The village of Wolfheim is a quiet little place until the geneticist Dr. Victor Hoppe returns after an absence of nearly twenty years. The doctor brings with him his infant children—three identical boys all sharing a disturbing disfigurement. He keeps them hidden away until Charlotte, the woman who is hired to care for them, begins to suspect that the triplets—and the good doctor— aren't quite what they seem. As the villagers become increasingly suspicious, the story of Dr. Hoppe's past begins to unfold, and the shocking secrets that he has been keeping are revealed. A chilling story that explores the ethical limits of science and religion, The Angel Maker is a haunting tale in the tradition of The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Frankenstein. Brought to life by internationally bestselling author Stefan Brijs, this eerie tale promises to get under readers' skin


The Angel Maker was a book I just picked up at the library on a whim. I fell in love with the cover and when I read the back blurb, I knew I had to read it. I'm glad I did. The book, very subtlely written, was a great read.

It's broken up into three parts. The first part focuses on the children and Charlotte, the second on Victor and his past, and the third tied them both together. It's written in third person, which helps the reader get points of view from many characters, which turned out to be quite important for the story.

The basis of the story really depending on both science and religion, and how they intertwined. It raised a lot of questions to the characters and the readers, it really makes you think, which I love in books. It's a twist on the mad scientist, one that I really liked. I really liked the children, and how their names tie to the title of the novel. It's all very closely related, and you've got to read the whole story to get all those litte things to make sense.

I'd recommend this book to anyone who likes philisophical books, ones that make you think.

My rating: 8/10

No comments:

Post a Comment